Contact Us

Business Phone Number

Frequently asked questions

BPI is an American National Standards Institute (ANSI) accredited national standards development organization for the energy efficiency and weatherization industry.

BPI develops certifications based on upholding these standards and creating consistency throughout the workforce. BPI currently provides standards on home energy auditing, standard practice for the basic analysis of buildings and more.

The Building Science Principles (BSP) Certificate of Knowledge verifies basic knowledge of the building science behind house-as-a-system home performance. Building science demonstrates how various components of a home interact to affect its overall performance. After passing the 100-question online exam with a score of 70% or better, candidates will earn the certificate.

No, only BPI Certified Professionals may claim to be BPI certified.

The Building Science Principles (BSP) certificate is not a BPI professional certification. The certificate is your first step into the world of home performance. Passing the BSP test does not replace the knowledge, skills or abilities of BPI Building Analysts, or other BPI Certified Professionals.

BPI Certified Professionals pass rigorous written and field practical exams, earn Continuing Education Units and re-certify every three (3) years to maintain best practices in building science.

The BSP certificate will qualify you to provide general advice to homeowners seeking information about home energy audits and retrofits. It will not qualify you to perform diagnostic tests associated with energy audits, or to carry out retrofit work. You will be able to recognize potential home performance problems, and to know when to call in any of the expert BPI Certified Professionals below:

  • AC and Heat Pump
  • Air Leakage Control Installer
  • Building Analyst
  • Crew Leader
  • Energy Auditor
  • Envelope Professional
  • Healthy Home Evaluator
  • Heating Professional
  • Infiltration and Duct Leakage
  • Manufactured Housing
  • Multifamily Building Analyst
  • Multifamily Building Operator
  • Quality Control Inspector
  • Retrofit Installer Technician

Anyone over the age of 16 may sit for a BPI exam. Anyone under 18 years of age will need to submit a BPI Parental or Guardian Consent and Waiver of Liability Form prior to sitting for a BPI exam.

While no formal experience is necessary to participate in most exams, we strongly recommend that you have some building performance experience and seek training from an independent training organization before taking any BPI certification exams.

Individuals whose certification has expired are no longer eligible to renew under the policy and must retake the relevant online and field exams for each certification.


The Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) certification builds on other BPI certifications.

You must have one of the following certifications prior to sitting for the HHE certification exam:

  • Building Analyst (BA)
  • Multifamily Building Analyst (MFBA)
  • Energy Auditor (EA)
  • Quality Control Inspector (QCI)


The HERS Rater Program qualifies Home Energy Score assessors to perform a visual assessment that educates homeowners about their home’s energy efficiency. Assessors then provide cost-effective recommendations to reduce the amount of energy that homeowners waste on inefficiencies.


Homeowners may use BPI’s Contractor Locator Tool to find BPI Raters and BPI Certified Professionals. When you join BPI’s Rater Program, your information is automatically added to the locator tool.

BPI is raising the bar to challenge technicians to learn and use the skills necessary to help homeowners diagnose and solve their home’s problems. The online and field exams are challenging – not everyone passes. Those who are unsuccessful on the exams can schedule to retake them.

You have six (6) attempts to take and pass the online exam and six (6) attempts to take and pass the field exam in a one (1) year period. The year starts at your first attempt followed by five (5) additional attempts. If you have tested six (6) times, you must wait until a year has passed since your first initial attempt.